12.11. 2022 –12.2. 2023

Michel Majerus

DATA STREAMING

The exhibition DATA STREAMING shows a series of works from the later stage of Michel Majerus’ (1967–2002) œuvre in which the artist vigorously negotiates the coming of age of the digital within visual culture in the 1990s and early 2000s. In this body of work, Majerus suspends figurative and abstract elements of painting with digital printing technologies that were emerging at the time. He translates both into works ranging from smaller formats to large scale, multi-panel paintings and his seminal installation the space is where you’ll find it (2000) on view in the exhibition.

As a user of digital culture several iconic figures both real and virtual from and around gaming, animation, and hacking appear in Majerus’ work — such as the hacker Boris Floricic (1972–1998), the video game Space Invaders, and the characters Donkey Kong and Super Mario. In this expansive painting vocabulary Majerus also adopts the formal language of post-production software such as Adobe Photoshop. As part of Majerus’ synthesis of existing aesthetic strategies from painting, installation, and conceptual art within his work, the immersive installation the space is where you’ll find it (2000) envelops viewers in a cosmos of digital images. By bringing these works together in the present, DATA STREAMING asks how to read and understand Majerus’ work with the hindsight of artistic and technological developments made in the past twenty years.

DATA STREAMING is part of a series of exhibitions that will look at Majerus’ œuvre anew, taking place at KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, the Michel Majerus Estate, and at neugerriemschneider for the 20th anniversary of Michel Majerus’ passing. In parallel, thirteen museums throughout Germany will show works by Michel Majerus from their collections.

A comprehensive publication will be published in collaboration with all project partners.

Support

Drücken Sie ESC, um die Suchmaske zu close.

12.11. 2022 –12.2. 2023

Michel Majerus

DATA STREAMING

Die Ausstellung DATA STREAMING zeigt eine Reihe von Werken aus der letzten Phase von Michel Majerus’ (1967–2002) künstlerischem Schaffen, in der er sich intensiv mit dem Erscheinen des Digitalen in der visuellen Kultur der 1990er- und frühen 2000er-Jahre auseinandersetzt. In den Arbeiten aus dieser Zeit überlagert Majerus figurative und abstrakte Elemente der Malerei, mit den damals aufkommenden digitalen Drucktechnologien. Beides überträgt er in eine Reihe unterschiedlicher Medien, darunter klein- wie groß- formatige mehrteilige Gemälde und seine bahnbrechende Installation the space is where you’ll find it (2000) die in der Ausstellung zu sehen ist.

Als Nutzer der digitalen Kultur überträgt Majerus reale und virtuelle Ikonen aus den Bereichen Gaming, Animation und Hacking, wie zum Beispiel den Hacker Boris Floricic (1972–1998) und Charaktere aus Videospielen wie Space Invaders, Donkey Kong und Super Mario, in seine Werke. Zudem macht er sich die Formensprache von Bildbearbeitungssoftware wie Adobe Photoshop zu eigen. Die immersive Installation the space is where you’ll find it (2000), die Teil von Majerus’ Synthese bestehender ästhetischer Strategien aus Malerei, Installation und Konzeptkunst ist, umgibt die Betrachter:innen geradezu mit einem Kosmos digitaler Bilder. Mit dem Transfer solcher Arbeiten in die Gegenwart stellt DATA STREAMING die Frage, wie Majerus’ Werk retrospektiv in Hinblick auf die künstlerischen und technologischen Entwicklungen der letzten zwanzig Jahre zu lesen und zu interpretieren ist.

DATA STREAMING ist Teil einer Ausstellungsreihe, die anlässlich des 20. Todestages von Michel Majerus im KW Institute for Contemporary Art, dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein, dem Kunstverein in Hamburg, dem Michel Majerus Estate und neugerriemschneider stattfindet. Parallel dazu zeigen dreizehn Museen in ganz Deutschland Werke von Michel Majerus aus ihren Sammlungen.

Zu der Ausstellung erscheint in Zusammenarbeit mit allen Projektpartner:innen eine umfangreiche Publikation.

Förderer

Drücken Sie ESC, um die Suchmaske zu schließen.