24.10.
2020
–24.1.
2021
Not Fully Human, Not Human at All

Saddie Choua, Lamb Chops Should Not Be Overcooked, 2019. Installation at Contour Biennale 9, Mechelen. Photo by Lavinia Wouters.

Not Fully Human, Not Human at All

Participating artists: Saddie Choua, Valentina Desideri , Denise Ferreira da Silva , Arely Amaut, Nilbar Güreş, Ibro Hasanović, Jelena Jureša, Doruntina Kastrati, Kaltrina Krasniqi, Pedro Neves Marques, Christian Nyampeta, Daniela Ortiz, Monira Al Qadiri, Lala Raščić and Kengné Téguia

This exhibition looks into processes of dehumanization that are taking place in Europe. Dehumanization is generally understood as the degradation of human life, performed by human beings upon one another. A number of recent occurrences have lead to stricter policies of immigration, new forms of nationalism, limits on universal access to healthcare, neo-liberal pressure on state economic policies, the erosion of rights for foreign workers, and the consecration of what defines Europe both culturally and geographically. These occurrences are coexistent with an implicit reevaluation of who decides who is considered human at all, and are part of a historically reoccurring process. This exhibition happens at a time when various world-wide states of emergency related to COVID-19 have exacerbated the lack of access to health services as a basic human right; and is concurrent with a rise in extremist Right-wing politics which is inspired by dehumanizing acts of violence. In these current circumstances, it seems urgent that we, cultural workers, keep aware of these trends and make our objections visible in our artistic production and in our cultural institutions.

Not Fully Human, Not Human at All takes its name from Donna Haraway’s essay “Ecce Homo, Ain’t (Ar’n’t) I a Woman, and Inappropriate/d Others”, a text which challenges the “universal” claims of Enlightenment Humanism in order to propose conditions of what she calls “non-generic” collective humanity. In this text, Haraway refers to Hortense Spillers’ description of the levels of dehumanization faced by slaves in the United States, their treatment of being disposable, and their lack of any legal subjectivity—conditions that we can find in Europe today. We might enhance this position with some words by poet Suhaiymah Manzoor-Khan, from her poem This is Not a Humanizing Poem which demands: “if you need me to prove my humanity, I am not the one that’s not human”. In stating this, Manzoor-Khan points to art’s refusal—and by extension the artist’s refusal—to speak from a position demanded from the outside—to play the role of the Other. It is by narrativizing her act of refusal, of not-not writing a humanizing poem, that she truly humanizes her work. It is in this semantic play, that we are led to think about by who, by what, in which circumstances and by what processes someone might be determined not human. The artists in this exhibition set out from similar positions as both Haraway, Spillers and Manzoor-Khan in order to propose new ways of thinking through our collective states of humanity.

This new exhibition, symposium and publication focuses on Europe as a geographic and conceptual framework, while reflecting on the dehumanization that characterizes many of the activities that humans have been doing in the name of “humanity” within its borders. It follows up on a three year project initiated by KADIST and curated by Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez that appeared in three different European localities—Kosovo, Portugal, and Belgium—with institutional partners in these contexts.

Curators: Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez, Bettina Steinbrügge

Curatorial advisors: Bruno Leitão, Monica de Miranda, Donjetë Murati, João Mourão, Ares Shporta, Luís Silva, Pieternel Vermoortel, Emilie Villez + Lumbardhi (Prizren, Kosovo), HANGAR (Lisbon, Portugal), Netwerk (Aalst, Belgium), and KADIST (Paris)

Support

The exhibition is kindly supported by the Ministry of Culture and Media of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, German Federal Cultural Foundation.

Close

24.10.
2020
–24.1.
2021
Not Fully Human, Not Human at All

Saddie Choua, Lamb Chops Should Not Be Overcooked, 2019. Installationsansicht Contour Biennale 9. Foto: Lavinia Wouters.

Not Fully Human, Not Human at All

Teilnehmende Künstler*innen: Saddie Choua, Valentina Desideri , Denise Ferreira da Silva , Arely Amaut, Nilbar Güreş, Ibro Hasanović, Jelena Jureša, Doruntina Kastrati, Kaltrina Krasniqi, Pedro Neves Marques, Christian Nyampeta, Daniela Ortiz, Monira Al Qadiri, Lala Raščić und Kengné Téguia

Die Gruppenausstellung Not Fully Human, Not Human at All untersucht die Prozesse der Dehumanisierung, die derzeit in ganz Europa zu erkennen sind. Unter Dehumanisierung verstehen wir die Entmenschlichung und damit Herabwürdigung von Menschen durch andere Menschen, die sich zumeist in Diffamierung und Ausgrenzung äußert. Strenge Einwanderungspolitik, neue Formen des Nationalismus, eingeschränkter Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung, neoliberaler Druck auf staatliche Wirtschaftspolitik, die Erosion der Rechte ausländischer Arbeitskräfte trifft auf eine Überhöhung der kulturellen und moralischen Instanz Europas. Parallel zu diesen Entwicklungen werden stillschweigend die Kriterien, wer überhaupt als Mensch zu betrachten sei, neu formuliert und zeigen sich so als ein sich historisch wiederholender Prozess. Diese Ausstellung findet zu einer Zeit statt, in der ein weltweiter Ausnahmezustand im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19 den ohnehin unzureichenden Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung als ein grundlegendes Menschenrecht verschärft haben; und sie geht einher mit einer Zunahme rechtsextremer Politik, die von entmenschlichenden Gewalttaten inspiriert scheint. Unter diesen aktuellen Bedingungen erscheint es dringend erforderlich, diese Entwicklungen bewusst wahrzunehmen und unsere Kritik im Rahmen künstlerischer Produktion und in Kunstinstitutionen zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

Der Ausstellungstitel Not Fully Human, Not Human at all ist Donna Haraways Essay Ecce Homo, Ain’t (Ar’n’t) I a Woman, and Inappropriate/d Others entlehnt, in dem sie die universellen Ansprüche des Humanismus der Aufklärung infrage stellt, um im Gegenzug eine neue kollektive Humanität vorzuschlagen. Sie bezieht sich dabei auf Hortense Spiller,  die die Entmenschlichung der Sklaven in den Vereinigten Staaten beschreibt und dabei über Verkäuflichkeit und das Nichtvorhandenseins jeglicher Rechtssubjektivität nachdenkt. Vertieft wird dies durch die Worte der Dichterin Suhaiymah Manzoor-Khan, die in ihrem Gedicht This is Not a Humanizing Poem fordert: „Wenn Sie mich brauchen, um meine Menschlichkeit zu beweisen, bin ich nicht diejenige, die nicht menschlich ist.“ Damit verweist Manzoor-Khan auf die Weigerung der Kunst - und damit auch des Künstlers/der Künstlerin -, aus einer von außen geforderten Position heraus zu sprechen, um die Rolle des Anderen zu verkörpern. Durch die Schilderung ihres Verweigerungsaktes, des Nicht-nicht-Schreibens eines humanisierenden Gedichts, verleiht sie ihrer Aussage erst recht eine humanisierende Bedeutung. Das Spiel mit der Semantik lässt uns darüber nachdenken, durch wen, wodurch, unter welchen Umständen und durch welche Prozesse jemand als nicht menschlich eingestuft werden könnte. Die Künstlerinnen und Künstler dieser Ausstellung gingen von ähnlichen Positionen wie Haraway, Spillers und Manzoor-Khan aus, um darüber zu reflektieren, wie wir unsere kollektiven Zustände des Menschseins gedanklich neu durchspielen und Angriffe auf ihre Existenzgrundlage widerstehen können.

Die neue Ausstellung, das Symposium und die Publikation betrachteten Europa als geografischen und begrifflichen Rahmen für die Reflexion der Dehumanisierung, die viele Aktivitäten prägt, die innerhalb der europäischen Grenzen von Menschen im Namen der „Menschlichkeit“ ausgeübten werden. Die Ausstellung knüpft an ein von KADIST initiiertes und von Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez kuratiertes dreijähriges Projekt an, das an drei verschiedenen Orten in Europa - im Kosovo, in Portugal und Belgien - mit institutionellen Partnern in diesen Kontexten durchgeführt wurde.

Kuratorinnen: Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez, Bettina Steinbrügge

Kuratorische Beratung: Bruno Leitão, Monica de Miranda, Donjetë Murati, João Mourão, Ares Shporta, Luís Silva, Pieternel Vermoortel, Emilie Villez + Lumbardhi (Prizren, Kosovo), HANGAR (Lissabon, Portugal), Netwerk (Aalst, Belgien) und KADIST(Paris)

Förderung

Die Ausstellung entsteht mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Behörde für Kultur und Medien der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg, der Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Schließen