10.8.
–20.10.
2019
Whose Jizz Is This

Peaches, 2019

Peaches

Whose Jizz Is This

In Kooperation mit dem Sommerfestival auf Kampnagel

To mark the 20-year stage anniversary of the musician and artist Peaches, the Kunstverein in Hamburg and the Summer Festival at Kampnagel present different facets of the artistic universe of the queer feminist pop-ikon:

The Kunstverein in Hamburg presents the first institutional solo exhibition of Peaches. Starting from her twentieth anniversary of the stage debut, Peaches will expand the format of the "exhibition" from her specifically trans-disciplinary and transgressive perspective to develop new artistic forms at the interface of live performance and visual arts.

Whose Jizz Is This reflects the versatility of Peaches' experimental (stage) works by taking her previous work with musical productions and live performances as a starting point to present sculptural, photographic, cinematic and textual imagery in an experimental setting. The approach of a classical exhibition is undermined by arranging historical artefacts by Peaches herself into new installative settings and linking them with questions of content: How can new spaces be created from the historical objects in order to bring the discussion about queer feminism, gender and performance to the surface? The exhibition is an immersive experiment that places Peaches' previous work under new auspices in the context of society as a whole, thereby opening up further facets of interpretation.

Kampnagel will feature the world premiere of a futuristic stage happening (THERE'S ONLY ONE PEACH WITH THE HOLE IN THE MIDDLE ), she is also presenting four club-evenings at KMH and is the anarchic vaudeville show SHABOOM!

More Informations & Dates

Support
Close

10.8.
–20.10.
2019
Whose Jizz Is This

Peaches, 2019

Peaches

Whose Jizz Is This

Zum 20-jährigen Bühnenjubiläum der Musikerin und Künstlerin Peaches, präsentieren der Kunstverein in Hamburg und das Internationale Sommerfestival auf Kampnagel verschiedene Facetten des künstlerischen Universums von Peaches:

Der Kunstverein in Hamburg präsentiert die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Peaches. Ausgehend von ihrem Bühnenjubiläum wird Peaches aus ihrer spezifisch transdisziplinären und Grenzen auflösenden Perspektive das Format der „Ausstellung“ erweitern, um neue künstlerische Formen an der Schnittstelle von Live-Performance und Bildender Kunst zu erarbeiten.

Whose Jizz Is This spiegelt die Vielseitigkeit von Peaches’ experimentellen (Bühnen-)Arbeiten wider, indem sie ihr bisheriges Schaffen mit musikalischen Produktionen und Live-Performances zum Ausgangspunkt nimmt, um skulpturale, fotografische, filmische und textliche Bildwerke in einem experimentellen Setting zu präsentieren. Der Ansatz einer klassischen Ausstellung wird dabei unterlaufen, indem historische Artefakte von Peaches selbst zu neuen installativen Settings angeordnet und mit inhaltlichen Fragestellungen verbunden werden: Wie können aus den historischen Objekten neue Räume geschaffen werden, um die Diskussion um Queer-Feminismus, Gender und Performance an die Oberfläche zu holen?

Die Ausstellung ist ein immersives Experiment, das die bisherige Arbeit von Peaches unter neuen Vorzeichen in einem gesamtgesellschaftlichen Kontext verortet und dabei weitere Facetten der Interpretation eröffnet.

Auf Kampnagel feiert Peaches futuristisches Bühnenhappening Weltpremiere (THERE'S ONLY ONE PEACH WITH THE HOLE IN THE MIDDLE), außerdem präsentiert sie vier Club-Abende und die anarchische Vaudevilleshow SHABOOM!.

Weitere Infos & Termine

Förderung
Schließen