Eva Kot’átková

Stomach of the world, 2017

1800* Euro

Eva Kot’átková’s work is characterized by a critical engagement with concepts of upbringing and education that are expressed in power relations and reflected in disciplinary sanctions. With her installations made of surreal collages, spatial structures and so-called “education machines,” Eva Kot’átková reveals regimenting aspects and coercions of social coexistence in an exaggerated way, but without pursuing enlightening aims.

At this year’s exhibition Jed Martin – The Map is More Interesting Than the Territory, Kot’átková presented the installation Theatre of Speaking Objects that drew attention to unconscious, invisible and subtle forms of suppression, manipulation and control taking place in the minds of individuals. The artist let everyday objects in a stage-like setting tell of fear, loneliness, adaptive difficulties or exclusion in different languages.

For the exclusive annual edition, Kot’átková presents a still from her current film Stomach of the World(2017), which is part of her ongoing show at the 21er Haus in Vienna. The film shows the world from the perspective of children in a both surreal and humorous way.

The children perform different kinds of exercises and grasp the world around them as a sort of body that devours and then transforms objects and subjects. Koťátková envisions the world as functioning like a stomach and uses this notion to additionally address the politics of eat or be eaten.

  • Exhibitions:
  • 2017
  • Diary of a stomach, Meyer Riegger, Berlin (S)
    Room for anxious objects, Artist room, K21, Düsseldorf (S)
    Dreamers Awake, White Cube, London (G)
    Jed Martin - Die Karte ist interessanter als das Gebiet,Kunstverein in Hamburg (G) The Spring Exhibition
    Den Frie Centre of Contemporary Art, Kopenhagen (G)
  • 2016
  • Cutting the Puppeteer’s Strings with Paper Teeth (Brief History of Daydreaming and String Control), Art Parcours, Art Basel (S)
    Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst: 20 Years, Migros Museum, Zürich (G)
    Stosunki, Pracy – Labor Relations, Wroclaw Contemporary Museum, Breslau (G)
  • 2015
  • Training in Ambidexterity, Juan Miró Foundation, Barcelona (S)
    Avatar and Atavism, Kunsthalle Düsseldorf (G)
  • 2014
  • Experiment für sieben Körperteile, Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden (S)
    Anatomical Orchestra, Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin (S)
  • 2013
  • Theatre of Speaking Objects, Kunstverein Braunschweig (S)
    Black Theater, 5 Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, Moskau(G)
    Il Palazzo Enciclopedico, 55. Biennale di Venezia, Venedig (G)
Close

Eva Kot’átková

Stomach of the World, 2017

1800* Euro

Das Werk von Eva Kot’átková ist gekennzeichnet von der kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit Erziehungs- und Bildungskonzepten, die sich in Machtverhältnissen äußern und in Disziplinierungsmaßnahmen abbilden. Mit ihren Installationen aus surreal anmutenden Collagen, Raumgefügen und sogenannten Erziehungsmaschinen („education machines“) lässt Eva Kot’átková reglementierende Aspekte und Zwänge des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens in überzeichneter Weise zum Vorschein kommen, ohne jedoch aufklärerische Ziele zu verfolgen.

In der diesjährige Ausstellung Jed Martin – Die Karte ist interessanter als das Gebiet zeigte Kot’átková die Installation Theatre of Speaking Objects und machte darin auf unbewusste, unsichtbare und subtile Formen der Unterdrückung, Manipulation und Kontrolle aufmerksam, die sich in den Köpfen des Einzelnen vollziehen. Die Künstlerin ließ alltägliche Objekte in einem bühnenhaften Setting und in unterschiedlichen Sprachen von Angst, Einsamkeit, Anpassungsschwierigkeiten oder Ausschluss erzählen. 

Für die exklusive Jahresgabe präsentiert Kot’átková ein Filmstill aus ihrem aktuellen Film Stomach of the World (2017), der Teil ihrer aktuellen Ausstellung im 21er Haus in Wien ist. Der Film zeigt auf eine surreale und zugleich humorvolle Weise die Welt aus der Sicht von Kindern.

Die Kinder üben verschiedenartige Übungen aus und begreifen die Welt um sich herum als eine Art Körper, der Objekte und Subjekte in sich aufnimmt und diese anschließend transformiert. Koťátková entwirft in ihrer Vorstellung eine Welt, die als Magen funktioniert und thematisiert darüber die Politik des Fressen und Gefressenswerdens.

  • Ausstellungen:
  • 2017
  • Diary of a stomach, Meyer Riegger, Berlin (E)
    Room for anxious objects, Artist room, K21, Düsseldorf (E)
    Dreamers Awake, White Cube, London (G)
    Jed Martin - Die Karte ist interessanter als das Gebiet,Kunstverein in Hamburg (G) The Spring Exhibition
    Den Frie Centre of Contemporary Art, Kopenhagen (G)
  • 2016
  • Cutting the Puppeteer’s Strings with Paper Teeth (Brief History of Daydreaming and String Control), Art Parcours, Art Basel (E)
    Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst: 20 Years, Migros Museum, Zürich (G)
    Stosunki, Pracy – Labor Relations, Wroclaw Contemporary Museum, Breslau (G)
  • 2015
  • Training in Ambidexterity, Juan Miró Foundation, Barcelona (E)
    Avatar and Atavism, Kunsthalle Düsseldorf (G)
  • 2014
  • Experiment für sieben Körperteile, Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden (E)
    Anatomical Orchestra, Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin (E)
  • 2013
  • Theatre of Speaking Objects, Kunstverein Braunschweig (E)
    Black Theater, 5 Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, Moskau(G)
    Il Palazzo Enciclopedico, 55. Biennale di Venezia, Venedig (G)
Schließen