Peaches

I can’t take it anymore, 2019

300* Euro

To mark the 20-year stage anniversary of the musician and artist Peaches, the Kunstverein in Hamburg presents her first institutional solo exhibition Whose Jizz Is This? Peaches takes a trans-disciplinary and transgressive approach, expanding the format of “the exhibition” by creating a living organism.

At the heart of this presentation are the “Fleshies”, who have renamed themselves as such to rewrite their narrative. The double masturbator, silicone sex aid, reduces the body to holes in a passive state. Rejecting this, the Fleshies discard words like sex toys and Masturbators to break away from humans and human interactions in a quest to find sexual equality amongst themselves. As they work to become a satisfied, self sufficient community, Fleshies decentralise a destructive and narcissistic human world and start a revolution.

With the edition I can't take it anymore, produced exclusively for the Kunstverein in Hamburg, Peaches refers to the stage banner work of the same name from the exhibition and visualizes the desperate moment of the Fleshies wanting to lead a self-determined life.

Close

Peaches

I can’t take it anymore, 2019

300* Euro

Zum 20-jährigen Bühnenjubiläum der Musikerin und Künstlerin Peaches präsentiert der Kunstverein in Hamburg ihre erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung Whose Jizz Is This? Peaches bedient sich sich eines  disziplinübergreifenden und grenzüberschreitenden Ansatzes zur Erweiterung des Formats „Ausstellung“, indem sie einen lebendigen Organismus entstehen lässt.

Im Kern dieser Präsentation stehen die „Fleshies“, die sich diesen Namen selbst gaben, um ihre Geschichte umzuschreiben. Der Doppel-Masturbator, eine Sex-Hilfe aus Silikon, reduziert den Körper auf Löcher in passivem Zustand. Die Fleshies weisen dies zurück und legen Worte wie Sexspielzeug und Masturbatoren ab, um sich auf der Suche nach sexueller Gleichberechtigung untereinander von den Menschen und menschlichen Interaktionen zu lösen. In ihren Bemühungen darum, eine befriedigte, autarke Gemeinschaft zu werden, dezentralisieren die Fleshies die destruktive, narzisstische Welt der Menschen und lösen eine Revolution aus.

Mit der exklusiv für den Kunstverein in Hamburg produzierten Edition I can’t take it anymore bezieht sich Peaches auf die gleichnamige Bühnenbanner-Arbeit aus der Ausstellung und visualisiert den verzweifelten Moment der Fleshies ein selbstbestimmtes Leben führen zu wollen.

Schließen