4.12. 2021 –13.2. 2022

Korakrit Arunanondchai

In his solo exhibition Songs for dying / Songs for living, Korakrit Arunanondchai uses large scale video installations to transform the Kunstverein in Hamburg into an atmospheric site for narrating history that focuses on the historical writing, globalization and information networks. The artist's work deals with personal experiences and investigates their socio-historical conditions, often finding inspiration in the cultural contexts of his home country of Thailand as well as sites marked by post-colonial trauma.

Dividing the gallery into different settings are two video works, which are in dialogue and lend the exhibition its title, Songs for dying and Songs for living (both 2021). With its bunched up, blue curtain and shimmering, bluish daylight, the atmosphere of the installation Songs for living recalls the depths of the ocean. In contrast, diagonally across from it, mother earth covers the gallery's floor and the darkness of black walls surrounds the video installation Songs for dying.

Kuratorinnenführung_KV.mp4.mp4

Three songs structure Songs for dying into three acts focusing on the process of dying, which does not appear as final, but as a possibility for the creation of new forms of existence. Arunanondchai is convinced that consciousness lives on after death in ghosts that communicate through spiritual mediums. In Songs for dying, ghosts speak through a shaman who is carrying the shell of a sea turtle to the ocean – the place where its life began. The animal is one of the story's main characters: a fragile and dying turtle, acting as a symbol for the artist's dead grandfather, but also refering to the sea turtle that is honored in mythology as a divinity and is most at home on the South Korea's Jeju Island. In this way, the video references the 1948 Jeju Massacre, during whichh 30,000 civilians died resisting right-wing paramilitary organizations, the occupation of Jeju Island by the U.S. military and the ongoing division of Korea. As a result of a state-ordered ban on speaking of the event, grievance rituals commemorating the victims take place on Jeju, in which shamans embody the spirits of the victims in a spiritual and ritualistic experience meant as a form of healing and to process collective, cultural memory. Arunanondchai connects this historical event with the current socio-political situation in Thailand, which is marked by pro-democratic protests against the military and monarchy. Here, the protestors react to the government restrictions with codes from pop culture and the internet, such as the series The Hunger Games, as well as with Thailand's spiritual traditions in order to show their demands. Arunanondchai compares how the demonstrators address the King of Thailand through a kind of spiritual medium. The Monarchy of Thailand characterizes enormous wealth and a power that is immune to every kind of law and protects the king from criticism. Songs for dying ends with an announcement of life after death – a cosmos that serves as a (living) space for different forms of being.

Artist Talk Koraktirk Arunanondchai

ARTIST TALK: Alex Gvojic & Bettina Steinbrügge

In contrast, Songs for living was created in collaboration with the artist Alex Gvojic and opens a world after death in which spirits find themselves back in bodies. This metamorphosis is accompanied by pulsating guitar and drum instrumentals whose rhythm increases over the course of the video. Aside from the background music, the audience also hears a God-like narrator, the musician Zsela. The text is oriented around Simon Weil's philosophical work "Gravity and Grace," which studies a physics of being and a metaphysics of physics, and Édouard Glissant's essays dealing with colonialism in "Soleil de la consience" ("Sun of Consciousness"). Repeated shots of the ocean portray it as a separate cosmic reality and as a womb out of which ghosts come to life. New York City is another setting that has sprung back to life after months of lockdown. The artist perceives its atmosphere as a reordering of the familiar. In this way, Songs for living deals with transformations leading to new forms of life. It is here that beginnings and endings merge together.

In Songs for dying / Songs for living, Arunanondchai takes a more explicit look at existential experiences than he has in previous works. His stories interweave layers of time, spaces, animate beings, and the supernatural with the everyday so that they appear inseparable. When he deals with the loss of his own grandfather, notions arise concerning the cosmological creation of the world and the cycles of life and death, growth and decay. Arunanondchai compares his practice of historical writing with the ability to generate new realities.

The exhibition is curated by Bettina Steinbrügge. It is a collaboration with the Migros Museum für Gegenwaratskunst in Zurich.

Accompanying the exhibition is the most comprehensive work on Korakrit Arunanondchai to date, published collectively on the occasion of three solo shows in the Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, the Kunstverein in Hamburg and the Museu de Art Contemporânea de Serralves in Porto.

Support

Drücken Sie ESC, um die Suchmaske zu close.

4.12. 2021 –13.2. 2022

Korakrit Arunanondchai

Songs for dying / Songs for living

In seiner Einzelausstellung Songs for dying / Songs for living verwandelt Korakrit Arunanondchai den Kunstverein in Hamburg durch raumübergreifende Videoinstallationen in einen atmosphärischen Ort des Geschichtenerzählens, an dem Geschichtsschreibung, Globalisierung und Informationsnetzwerke thematisiert werden. Inspiriert wird er dabei häufig von den kulturellen Kontexten seiner Heimat Thailand sowie von Orten, die von postkolonialen Traumata geprägt sind.

Die im Dialog stehenden und der Ausstellung ihren Titel gebenden Videoarbeiten Songs for dying (2021) und Songs for living (in Kollaboration mit Alex Gvojic, 2021) verarbeitet der Künstler persönliche Erfahrungen und untersucht deren soziohistorische Bedingungen.

Sie teilen die Ausstellungshalle in unterschiedliche Kulissen. Durch einen gerafften blauen Vorhang und bläulich schimmerndes Tageslicht erinnert die Atmosphäre der Installation Songs for living an die Tiefen des Ozeans. Schräg gegenüber bedeckt hingegen Erde den Boden des Ausstellungsraumes, und die Dunkelheit schwarzer Wände umgibt die Videoinstallation Songs for dying.

Kuratorinnenführung_KV.mp4.mp4

Drei Lieder gliedern Songs for dying in drei Akte, in denen der Prozess des Sterbens thematisiert wird. Dieser erscheint nicht als endgültig, sondern als Möglichkeit für die Entstehung neuer Formen der Existenz. Arunanondchai ist der Überzeugung, dass das Bewusstsein nach dem Tod in Geistern weiterlebt, die durch spirituelle Medien kommunizieren. In Songs for dying sprechen Geister durch eine Schamanin, die eine Meeresschildkröte zum Ozean trägt – an jenen Ort, an dem ihr Leben begann. Das Tier ist eine der Hauptfiguren der Erzählung: eine gebrechliche und sterbende Schildkröte, die symbolisch für den verstorbenen Großvater des Künstlers steht, aber auch jene Meeresschildkröte meint, die in der Mythologie als Gottheit verehrt wird und dort vor allem auf der südkoreanischen Insel Jeju beheimatet ist. Damit referiert das Video auf das Jeju Massaker in Südkorea im Jahr 1948, bei dem 30.000 Zivilist:innen bei einem Aufstand gegen paramilitärische rechte Einrichtungen, die Besetzung der Insel Jeju durch das US-Militär und die fortschreitende Teilung Koreas starben. Als Folge des staatlich verordneten Verbotes, über das Geschehen zu sprechen, finden in Jeju Trauerrituale zur Erinnerung an die Opfer statt. Dabei verkörpern Schaman:innen den Geist der Opfer im Sinne einer Praxis der spirituellen und rituellen Erfahrung als Form von Heilung und Aufarbeitung von kollektiver kultureller Erinnerung. Dieses historische Ereignis verbindet Arunanondchai mit der aktuellen soziopolitischen Situation in Thailand, die von pro-demokratischen Protesten gegen das Militär und die Monarchie geprägt ist. Hier reagieren die Protestierenden auf die Restriktionen der Regierung mit Codes aus Popkultur und Internet wie der Serie The Hunger Games (Die Tribute von Panem), aber auch mit thailändischen spirituellen Traditionen, um ihre Forderungen sichtbar zu machen. Arunanondchai vergleicht die Art, wie die Demonstrierenden den thailändischen König ansprechen, mit einer Art spirituellem Medium.

Die thailändische Monarchie charakterisiert enormer Reichtum und eine Macht, die gegen jegliche Art von Gesetz immun ist und den König vor Kritik schützt. Songs for dying schließt mit der Ankündigung einer Welt nach dem Tod ab – einem Kosmos, der als (Lebens)-Raum für unterschiedlichste Wesen dient.

Artist Talk Koraktirk Arunanondchai

ARTIST TALK: Alex Gvojic & Bettina Steinbrügge

Songs for living hingegen entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler Alex Gvojic und eröffnet eine Welt nach dem Tod, in der sich Geister in Körpern wiederfinden. Begleitet wird diese Verwandlung durch pulsierende Gitarren- und Schlagzeug-Instrumentals, die sich im Verlauf des Videos in ihrer Rhythmik steigern. Neben der musikalischen Untermalung hört das Publikum eine gottgleiche Erzählstimme, die von der Musikerin Zsela stammt. Der Text orientiert sich an dem philosophischen Werk „Schwerkraft und Gnade“ von Simone Weil, das eine Physik des Daseins beziehungsweise eine Metaphysik der Physik untersucht, und Édouard Glissants Essays aus „Soleil de la conscience“ („Sonne des Bewusstseins“), die sich mit dem Kolonialismus auseinandersetzen. Wiederholt erscheinen Aufnahmen des Ozeans, der als eine getrennte kosmische Realität und als Mutterleib, aus denen die Geister ins Leben kommen, empfunden wird. Ein weiterer Schauplatz ist New York City, das nach dem monatelangen Lockdown wieder zum Leben erwacht und dessen Atmosphäre von den Künstler:innen als Neuordnung des Bekannten wahrgenommen wurde. Songs for living handelt damit von Transformationen, die zu neuen Formen des Lebens führen. Neubeginn und Ende verschmelzen an dieser Stelle.

In Songs for dying / Songs for living richtet Korakrit Arunanondchai den Blick expliziter als in seinen bisherigen Werken auf existenzielle Erfahrungen. Dabei verknüpft er in seinen Erzählungen Zeitebenen, Räume, Lebewesen und Übernatürliches mit Alltäglichem, sodass sie untrennbar wirken. Über die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Verlust des eigenen Großvaters entfalten sich Gedanken zur kosmologischen Entstehung der Welt und den damit verbundenen Zyklen von Leben und Tod, Wachstum und Zerfall. Arunanondchai vergleicht seine Praxis des Geschichtenerzählens mit der Fähigkeit, neue Realitäten zu erzeugen.

Die Ausstellung wird von Bettina Steinbrügge kuratiert. Es handelt sich um eine Koproduktion mit dem Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Zürich.

Zur Ausstellung entsteht die bisher umfassendste Publikation zum Werk von Korakrit Arunanondchai, die anlässlich von drei Einzelausstellungen im Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, dem Kunstverein in Hamburg und dem Museu de Arte Contemporânea de Serralves in Porto gemeinsam von den Institutionen herausgegeben wird.

Förderer

Drücken Sie ESC, um die Suchmaske zu schließen.