• Kunstverein-in-hamburg-simon-denny-the-founders-compass

    The Founder’s Compass (shards), 2021

    €300.00

Simon Denny

The Founder’s Compass (shards), 2021

  • Kunstverein-in-hamburg-simon-denny-the-founders-compass

Simon Denny is an artist working with installation, sculpture, print and video. His exhibitions unpack the social and political implications of the technology industry and the rise of social media, startup culture, blockchains and cryptocurrencies. As an extension of these investigations, Denny co-curated Proof of Stake – Technological Claims at the Kunstverein in Hamburg, which reflected on themes of technology, organization and ownership.

The Founder’s Compass was posted by Vitalik Buterin, the creator of the Ethereum blockchain, on his Twitter account. The meta-diagram plots the way political positions represent politics itself, and how they understand themselves and their adversaries. But like all meta-graphs, there’s another level of abstraction that would include this one. The graph reveals as much about its maker as its data set.

Buterin’s imagined neutrality only reveals his own unexamined politics: the very assumption that a metapolitics is possible is a political one. Blockchain ideology’s scientific trappings are often blind to the fact that it is just that–ideology. Technology, especially of ownership, is never neutral; and wittingly or not, neutrality claims serve their own strategic function. As a part of Proof of Stake, the diagram was cut into six parts and printed on a group of tessellated canvases, where parts of the diagram awkwardly misalign due to the separate panels. For his edition, the diagram is similarly split into six sections (or shards, a term that derives from distributed computing but also refers to a part of a whole) and is multiplied as silkscreen prints so it can be distributed once again. By shifting their context, from the “metaverse” to art institutions or collections, Denny transforms a supposed diagrammatic model of politics into a representation of its maker.

Denny co-founded the Berlin Program for Artists, an artist mentoring program, in 2016 with Willem de Rooij and Angela Bulloch. Since 2018, he has been a professor for Time Based Media at the HFBK, Hamburg.

  • Exhibitions (Selection)
  • 2021

    Proof of Stake - Technologische Behauptungen, Kunstverein in Hamburg (G)

  • 2020

    Mine, K21, Düsseldorf (S)
    We Never Sleep, Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt am Main (G)
    Art in the Age of Anxiety, Sharjah Art Foundation (G)

  • 2019

    Mine, MONA, Berriedale, Tasmania (S)
    Regulation, T293, Rom (S)
    The Founder’s Paradox, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū (S)

  • 2017

    FAAS – Feedback as a service: reflecting on messaging, debate and criticality inside a parliamentary discussion on internet governance, BOZAR, Brüssel (S)
    Hammer Projects: Simon Denny, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (S)

  • 2016

    Business Insider, WIELS, Brüssel (S)

  • 2015

    Products for Organizing, Serpentine Gallery, London (S)
    Secret Power, New Zealand Pavillon, 56. Biennale di Venezia, Venedig (S)
    The Innovator’s Dilemma, MoMA PS1, New York (S)

Drücken Sie ESC, um die Suchmaske zu close.

• kunstverein-in-hamburg-simon-denny-the-founders-compass

    The Founder’s Compass (shards), 2021

    300,00 €

Simon Denny

The Founder’s Compass (shards), 2021

  • kunstverein-in-hamburg-simon-denny-the-founders-compass

Simon Denny arbeitet mit den Medien Installation, Skulptur, Print und Video. Seine Ausstellungen beleuchten die sozialen und politischen Auswirkungen der Technologiebranche, den Aufstieg der Sozialen Medien, der Startup-Kultur, der Blockchain und der Kryptowährung. In Erweiterung dieser Untersuchungen hat Denny die Ausstellung Proof of Stake – Technologische Behauptungen im Kunstverein in Hamburg kuratiert, die die Themen Technologie, Organisation und Eigentum reflektierte.

The Founder’s Compass ist ein meta-politisches Koordinatensystem, das von Vitalik Buterin, dem Erfinder der Ethereum-Blockchain, erstmalig auf Twitter veröffentlicht wurde. Die Grafik stellt dar, wie politische Akteur:innen sich in der Politik repräsentieren und wie sie sich selbst und ihre politischen Kontrahent:innen in dem Feld einordnen. Wie bei allen Metadiagrammen gibt es jedoch noch eine weitere Abstraktionsebene, verrät die Grafik doch genauso viel über ihren Ersteller wie über den von ihr repräsentierten Datensatz.

Buterins vermeintliche Neutralität offenbart letztlich seine eigene, selbst nicht hinterfragte Taktik: Schon die reine Annahme, dass es eine Metapolitik gibt, ist eine politische Annahme. Der wissenschaftliche Anstrich der Blockchain-Ideologie verdeckt oft die Tatsache, dass sie genau das ist: eine Ideologie. Technologie, insbesondere im Bereich des Eigentums, ist niemals neutral, und Neutralitätsbehauptungen besitzen, ob bewusst oder unbewusst, eine eigene strategische Funktion. Als Teil von Proof of Stake wurde das Diagramm in sechs Teile zerlegt und auf eine Reihe mosaikartiger Leinwände gedruckt, wobei Teile des Diagramms aufgrund der einzelnen Paneele versetzt angeordnet sind. Für Dennys Jahresgabe wird das Diagramm in ähnlicher Weise in sechs Abschnitte (oder shards – ein Begriff, der aus dem verteilten System, das heißt einem Zusammenschluss unabhängiger Computer stammt, sich aber auch auf einen Teil eines Ganzen bezieht) aufgeteilt und als Siebdrucke vervielfältigt, damit es erneut distribuiert werden kann. Durch die Verlagerung des Kontexts vom „Metaversum” zur Kunstinstitution oder Sammlung verwandelt Denny ein vermeintliches schematisches Modell der Politik in eine Repräsentation seines Urhebers.

Denny hat 2016 gemeinsam mit Willem de Rooij und Angela Bulloch das Berlin Program for Artists, ein Künstler-Mentoring-Programm, gegründet. Seit 2018 ist er Professor für Zeitbasierte Medien an der HFBK, Hamburg.

  • Ausstellungen (Auswahl)
  • 2021

    Proof of Stake - Technologische Behauptungen, Kunstverein in Hamburg (G)

  • 2020

    Mine, K21, Düsseldorf (S)
    We Never Sleep, Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt am Main (G)
    Art in the Age of Anxiety, Sharjah Art Foundation (G)

  • 2019

    Mine, MONA, Berriedale, Tasmania (S)
    Regulation, T293, Rom (S)
    The Founder’s Paradox, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū (S)

  • 2017

    FAAS – Feedback as a service: reflecting on messaging, debate and criticality inside a parliamentary discussion on internet governance, BOZAR, Brüssel (S)
    Hammer Projects: Simon Denny, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (S)

  • 2016

    Business Insider, WIELS, Brüssel (S)

  • 2015

    Products for Organizing, Serpentine Gallery, London (S)
    Secret Power, New Zealand Pavillon, 56. Biennale di Venezia, Venedig (S)
    The Innovator’s Dilemma, MoMA PS1, New York (S)

Drücken Sie ESC, um die Suchmaske zu schließen.