Tuesday, 24.11.2020,
17 Uhr

Online-Assembly

Session IV

Online-Assembly: Not Fully Human, Not Human at All
 

Processes of dehumanization are taking place in Europe while we are writing these lines. Rooted in Europe’s long history of colonial and imperial projects, such processes have become even more exposed during the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, showing class violence and racial divisions across Europe. During this time we have been witnessing how the most vulnerable social groups become widely disposable, reminding us of the inhuman conditions that peoples—for example refugees, people of color, migrant workers or indigenous minorities—within or outside of Europe are subject to.

The presence extreme right-wing politics in many European countries has induced some profound change in the conditions of creating and representing contemporary art. This has involved increasing social, political and economic pressures, silencing, appropriation or even dangerous recuperation. With this series of conversations that form the Online Assembly, we would like to ask the question, of how re-humanization can take place and how one might imagine it within the institutional art landscape in Europe?

The online assembly brings together various artists, thinkers, partners and scientists to discuss the main themes of the exhibition, bringing into focus different aspects of the discourse on dehumanization. For example, thinking through issues of border control, structural racism, migration, colonial heritage and the neo-colonial present, alongside possible rehumanizing processes such as healing and care practices.

All events are held in English. Each event is followed by a moderated online public discussion. These discussions will be archived on our website afterwards.

The online assembly runs throughout November and is available live on our website / and via zoom every Tuesday. Participation is free of charge. For receiving the zoom links please e-mail: presse@kunstverein.de

 

Session IV – 24 November 2020, 5-7.30 pm

Talk V: Jelena Jureša in conversation with Arlette-Louise Ndakoze.

As a philosopher, fiction writer, and curator, Arlette-Louise Ndakoze researches on pan-African sciences and their forms of mediation. Since September 2020, she is the artistic co-director of the art space SAVVY Contemporary – The Laboratory of Form-Ideas. It engages with systems of oppression through artistic articulations towards their potential transformation, into a co-living with the multidimensional common.

A.-L. Ndakoze focuses on the connection between text and sound, in the broader sense the one between spiritual-immaterial and physical-material spheres - those spaces of possibility in the making.

For more than ten years, A.-L. Ndakoze has been drawing on artistic and intellectual movements - in Rwanda in particular, and across pan-African cultures in general - with research on philosophical disciplines, sonic history, literary scenes, and the link that holds cultures together to this day.

A.-L. Ndakoze co-guides the radio SAVVYZΛΛR, a transposition of SAVVY Contemporary on air, launched in June 2020. In this sonic world of potentialities, forms of pain move to channels 

Talk VI / Round table with the directors/curators of the participating institutions of the project Not Fully Human, Not Human at All:

Bruno Leitão (HANGAR, Lisbon, Portugal), Ares Shporta (Lumbardhi, Prizren, Kosovo), Luís Silva (Kunsthalle Lissabon, Lisbon, Portugal), Bettina Steinbrügge (Kunstverein in Hamburg, Germany), Pieternel Vermoortel (Netwerk Aalst, Aalst, Belgium), Emilie Villez (KADIST, Paris, France), moderated by Nina Möntmann (Professor for Art Theory, University Cologne)

 

Bruno Leitão is the curatorial director of Hangar – Artistic Research Center. In Hangar, he has curated and programmed several exhibitions, talks and seminars with artists such as Luis Camnitzer, Coco Fusco, Carlos Amorales, The Otolith Group, John Akomfrah, Rosa Barba, João Onofre, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Elena Bajo, João Maria Gusmão and Pedro Paiva, Alfredo Jaar, Fernanda Fragateiro or Zined Sedira, among others. As an independent curator, he curated among these Pouco a Pouco, the first solo exhibition by Ângela Ferreira in Spain at the CGAC (Santiago de Compostela, 2019); Affective Utopia at the Kadist Foundation (Paris, 2019) with the artists Sammy Baloji & Filip De Boeck, Luis Camnitzer, ngela Ferreira, Alfredo Jaar, Kiluanji Kia Henda, Grada Kilomba, Reynier Leyva Novo and Paulo Nazaret; A Ilha de Vénus by Kiluanji Kia Henda in Hangar (Lisbon, 2018); Cubismo Ideológico by Carlos Amorales in Hangar (Lisbon, 2017). He contributed as an editor and with texts for several magazines and catalogs. Among these, Curating Coloniality in Contemporary Iberia, published together with Carlos Garrido Castellano by the University of Wales Press. And texts for Atlantica: Contemporary Art from Angola and its Diaspora (Hangar Books), The Gap (curated by Luc Tuymans for Parasol Unit, London, and Mukha, Antwerp), Atlántica magazine, Dardo Magazine, Artishock (Chile) and Artecapital. "En Construcción" curated by Santiago Olmo (CGAC-Santiago de Compostela).

 

Ares Shporta is the co-founder and director of Lumbardhi Foundation, a non-profit that was established as a follow-up to the Initiative for the Protection of Lumbardhi Cinema. His work includes of programs, strategic development, inter-institutional partnerships, capital fundraising and revitalization. Shporta is also Chairman of the Network of Cultural Organizations in Prizren and Platforma Kooperativa, advocating for a better position of independent culture in Kosovo and the region.

 

Luis Silva is a curator based in Lisbon, Portugal, where he currently serves as co-director of Kunsthalle Lissabon, a contemporary art institution he founded in 2009. He is co-curator of the 2015 edition of ZONA MACO SUR, the solo project section of Mexico City's contemporary art fair. A selection of recent shows he curated includes solos by Patrizio Di Massimo (Me, Mum, Mister, Mad, 2014), Amalia Pica (Memorial for Intersections, 2013), Leonor Antunes (a linha é tão fina que o olho, apesar de armado com uma lupa, imagina-a ao invés de vê-la, 2013), Jonathas de Andrade (Cartazes para o Museu do Homem do Nordeste, 2013), Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor (I dreamt the work of another artist, 2013), Daniel Gustav Cramer and Haris Epaminonda (Early Summer, 2012), Melvin Moti (Echo Chamber, 2012), Pilvi Takala (Flip Side, 2011), Ahmet Ogut (Stones to Throw, 2011), Wilfredo Prieto (Landscape with the Fall of Icarus, 2011) and Mounira Al Solh (The Sea is a Stereo, 2010). Besides his curatorial practice, Silva is also co-editor of the ongoing book series Performing the Institution(al), published by Kunsthalle Lissabon and addressing recent developments in institutional practice.

 

Pieternel Vermoortel is artistic director of Netwerk Aalst. She is co-founder and director of the curatorial institute FormContent. FormContent's most recent project, "The Subject Interrupted", looks at the motivations and conditions of cultural production. She teaches curatorship at Curatorial Studies in KASK, Ghent and was previously associated with Goldsmiths, University of London. She has also taught at LUCA, in Brussels, and HISK, in Ghent. Vermoortel has written for Art Agenda and Metropolis M, among others, and has compiled publications including (2016, Sternberg Press, with Els Silvrants-Barclay), (2014, Mousse Publishing), (2011), and (2008). Recent exhibitions include, in SixtyEight Art Institute Copenhagen (2016), in ICA Singapore (2016); with Tim Etchells, Tate Modern, London (2015), Amsterdam (2015); and, in GAM, Turin (2010).

 

Emilie Villez is a curator based in Paris, France. Since 2008 she has been working with Kadist, a non-profit arts organisation based in Paris (France) and San Francisco (USA) and a member of the collection’s acquisition committee. After holding the position of Program coordinator, she became Director of Kadist – Paris in 2013. She has worked with a number of international artists in producing solo presentations of their work, collaborated closely with invited curators from all over the world, initiated the online journal Qalqalah (a collaboration with Bétonsalon – Centre for Art and research), and developed educational programs in relation to the collection.In parallel, she has been curating exhibitions independently with the collective Le Bureau/ (www.lebureau.tk), which she co-founded in 2005.

 

Nina Möntmann is Professor of Art Theory at the University of Cologne, curator and writer and PI at the Global South Study Center (GSSC) at the University of Cologne. Before she has been Professor of Art Theory and the History of Ideas at the Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm, and curator at NIFCA, the Nordic Institute for Contemporary Art in Helsinki, and has worked as a curator at various institutions. Her essays have appeared in numerous anthologies and exhibition catalogues. Her research interests include the decolonization of art institutions and models of social and political reorganization in artistic, curatorial and institutional practice.

 

Information on live transcription for the d/Deaf community: the remaining two sessions of the Online Assembly will be transcribed live thanks to the services by Ton Taste Text. The captions provided by human scribes will go directly into the Zoom seminar room. Please be mindful that the errors can still occur.

For more information, registration for obtaining the link to Zoom, assistance or suggestions please contact presse@kunstverein.de 

Upcoming events
Close

Dienstag, 24.11.2020,
17 Uhr

Online-Assembly

Session IV

Online-Assembly: Not Fully Human, Not Human at All
 

Während wir diese Zeilen schreiben, finden in Europa Prozesse der Entmenschlichung statt. Sie haben ihre Wurzeln in der langen Geschichte kolonialer und imperialer Entwicklungen in Europa und wurden während der andauernden Covid-19-Pandemie in Form von Klassenunruhen und Spaltung verschiedener Gruppen in ganz Europa noch deutlicher sichtbar. Wir haben miterlebt, wie die verwundbarsten sozialen Gruppen weitgehend entbehrlich werden, was uns an die unmenschlichen Bedingungen erinnert, denen marginalisierte Gruppen ausgesetzt sind.

Die Präsenz rechtsextremer Politik in vielen europäischen Ländern hat zu einem tief greifenden Wandel der Bedingungen für das Schaffen und die Repräsentation zeitgenössischer Kunst geführt. Dies hat zunehmenden sozialen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Handlungsdruck. Mit dieser Gesprächsreihe, die in Form eines Online-Assemblys stattfindet, möchten wir die Frage stellen, wie eine Re-Humanisierung stattfinden kann und wie man sie sich diese innerhalb der institutionellen Kunstlandschaft in Europa vorstellen kann.

Das Online-Symposium bringt verschiedene Künstler*innen, Partner*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen zusammen und diskutiert die Hauptthemen der Ausstellung. Verschiedene Aspekte des Diskurses der Entmenschlichung wie Grenzkontrolle, struktureller Rassismus, Migration, koloniales Erbe sowie über Heilungs- und Fürsorgepraktiken als rehumanisierende Prozesse stehen dabei im Fokus.

Alle Veranstaltungen werden auf Englisch abgehalten. An jede Veranstaltung schließt sich eine moderierte öffentliche Online-Diskussion an. Die Gespräche werden anschließend auf unserer Website archiviert.

Das Online-Assembly läuft den ganzen November und ist jeden Dienstag live auf unserer Website / und über Zoom verfügbar. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos.

Für die Zusendung der Zoom-Links bitte eine E-Mail an presse@kunstverein.de

 

Session IV: 24.11.2020, 17-19.30 Uhr


Talk V: Jelena Jureša im Gespräch mit Arlette-Louise Ndakoze

Die Philosophin, Schriftstellerin und Kuratorin Arlette-Louise Ndakoze forscht über panafrikanische Wissenschaften und ihre Vermittlungsformen. Seit September 2020 ist sie künstlerische Ko-Direktorin des Kunstraums SAVVY Contemporary - The Laboratory of Form-Ideas. Sie beschäftigt sich mit Systemen der Unterdrückung durch künstlerische Artikulationen in Richtung ihrer potenziellen Transformation, in ein Zusammenleben mit dem multidimensionalen Gemeinsamen.

A.-L. Ndakoze konzentriert sich auf die Verbindung zwischen Text und Klang, im weiteren Sinne auf die Verbindung zwischen spirituell-immateriellen und physisch-materiellen Sphären - jenen Räumen der Möglichkeit im Entstehen.

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren stützt sich A.-L. Ndakoze auf künstlerische und intellektuelle Bewegungen - in Ruanda im Besonderen und in den panafrikanischen Kulturen im Allgemeinen - mit Forschungen zu philosophischen Disziplinen, zur Klanggeschichte, zu literarischen Szenen und zur Verbindung, die die Kulturen bis heute zusammenhält.

A.-L. Ndakoze leitet das Radio SAVVYZΛΛR, eine Umsetzung von SAVVY Contemporary auf Sendung, die im Juni 2020 gestartet wurde. In dieser Klangwelt der Möglichkeiten bewegen sich Formen des Schmerzes auf Kanäle ihrer Befreiung zu. 

 

Talk VI / Runder Tisch mit den Direktor*innen / Kurator*innen der teilnehmenden Institutionen des Projekts Not Fully Human, Not Human at All:

Bruno Leitão (HANGAR, Lissabon, Portugal), Ares Shporta (Lumbardhi, Prizren, Kosovo), Luís Silva (Kunsthalle Lissabon, Lissabon, Portugal), Bettina Steinbrügge (Kunstverein in Hamburg, Deutschland), Pieternel Vermoortel (Netwerk Aalst, Aalst, Belgien), Emilie Villez (KADIST, Paris, Frankreich), moderiert von Nina Möntmann  (Professorin für Kunsttheorie, Universität zu Köln)

 

Bruno Leitão ist kuratorische Direktor von Hangar - Künstlerisches Forschungszentrum. Für Hangar kuratierte und programmierte er mehrere Ausstellungen, Gespräche und Seminare mit Künstler*innen wie Luis Camnitzer, Coco Fusco, Carlos Amorales, The Otolith Group, John Akomfrah, Rosa Barba, João Onofre, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Elena Bajo, João Maria Gusmão und Pedro Paiva, Alfredo Jaar, Fernanda Fragateiro oder Zined Sedira, um nur einige zu nennen. Als unabhängiger Kurator kuratierte er unter anderem Pouco a Pouco, die erste Einzelausstellung von Ângela Ferreira in Spanien im CGAC (Santiago de Compostela, 2019); Affektive Utopie in der Kadist Foundation (Paris, 2019) mit den Künstlern Sammy Baloji & Filip De Boeck, Luis Camnitzer, ngela Ferreira, Alfredo Jaar, Kiluanji Kia Henda, Grada Kilomba, Reynier Leyva Novo und Paulo Nazaret; A Ilha de Vénus von Kiluanji Kia Henda im Hangar (Lissabon, 2018); Cubismo Ideológico von Carlos Amorales im Hangar (Lissabon, 2017). Er trug als Redakteur und mit Texten für mehrere Zeitschriften und Kataloge bei. Darunter "Curating Coloniality in Contemporary Iberia", das zusammen mit Carlos Garrido Castellano von der University of Wales Press herausgegeben wurde. Und Texte für Atlantica: Zeitgenössische Kunst aus Angola und seiner Diaspora (Hangar Books), The Gap (kuratiert von Luc Tuymans für Parasol Unit, London, und Mukha, Antwerpen), die Zeitschrift Atlántica, das Dardo Magazine, Artishock (Chile) und Artecapital. "En Construcción" kuratiert von Santiago Olmo (CGAC-Santiago de Compostela).

 

Ares Shporta ist Mitbegründer und Direktor der Lumbardhi Foundation, einer gemeinnützigen Stiftung, die als Nachfolger der Initiative zum Schutz des Lumbardhi-Kinos gegründet wurde. Seine Arbeit umfasst Programme, strategische Entwicklung, interinstitutionelle Partnerschaften, Kapitalbeschaffung und Revitalisierung. Shporta ist auch Vorsitzender des Netzwerks kultureller Organisationen in Prizren und der Platforma Kooperativa, die sich für eine bessere Stellung der unabhängigen Kultur im Kosovo und in der Region einsetzen.

 

Luis Silva arbeitet als Kurator in Lissabon, wo er zurzeit Co-Direktor der Kunsthalle Lissabon ist, einer zeitgenössischen Kulturinstitution, welche er 2009 gründete. Er ist zudem Kurator der 2015 Ausgabe von ZONA MACO SUR, der Einzelprojektabteilung Messe für zeitgenössische Kunst in Mexico City. Zu den kürzlich von ihm kuratierten Ausstellungen gehören unter anderem: Patrizio Di Massimo (Me, Mum, Mister, Mad, 2014), Amalia Pica (Memorial for Intersections, 2013), Leonor Antunes (a linha é tão fina que o olho, apesar de armado com uma lupa, imagina-a ao invés de vê-la, 2013), Jonathas de Andrade (Cartazes para o Museu do Homem do Nordeste, 2013), Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor (I dreamt the work of another artist, 2013), Daniel Gustav Cramer and Haris Epaminonda (Early Summer, 2012), Melvin Moti (Echo Chamber, 2012), Pilvi Takala (Flip Side, 2011), Ahmet Ogut (Stones to Throw, 2011), Wilfredo Prieto (Landscape with the Fall of Icarus, 2011) and Mounira Al Solh (The Sea is a Stereo, 2010). Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Kurator ist Silva auch Mitherausgeber der Reihe Performing the Institution(al), die von der Kunsthalle Lissabon herausgegeben wird und sich mit neuen Entwicklungen in der institutionellen Praxis beschäftigt.

Pieternel Vermoortel ist künstlerische Leiterin von Netwerk Aalst. Sie ist Mitbegründerin und Direktorin des kuratorischen Instituts FormContent. Das jüngste Projekt von FormContent, "The Subject Interrupted", befasst sich mit den Motivationen und Bedingungen kultureller Produktion. Sie lehrt als Kuratorin an der Curatorial Studies in KASK, Gent, und war zuvor mit Goldsmiths, University of London, verbunden. Sie unterrichtete auch an der LUCA in Brüssel und an der HISK in Gent. Vermoortel hat u.a. für Art Agenda und Metropolis M geschrieben und Publikationen zusammengestellt, darunter (2016, Sternberg Press, mit Els Silvrants-Barclay), (2014, Mousse Publishing), (2011) und (2008). Zu den jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören, im SixtyEight Art Institute Kopenhagen (2016), im ICA Singapur (2016); mit Tim Etchells, Tate Modern, London (2015), Amsterdam (2015); und in GAM, Turin (2010).

 

Emilie Villez ist Kuratorin mit Sitz in Paris, Frankreich. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie mit Kadist zusammen, einer gemeinnützigen Kunstorganisation mit Sitz in Paris (Frankreich) und San Francisco (USA) und Mitglied der Ankaufskommission der Sammlung. Nachdem sie die Position der Programmkoordinatorin bekleidet hatte, wurde sie 2013 Direktorin von Kadist - Paris. Sie hat mit einer Reihe internationaler Künstler bei der Erstellung von Einzelpräsentationen ihrer Werke zusammengearbeitet, eng mit eingeladenen Kuratoren aus der ganzen Welt zusammengearbeitet, die Online-Zeitschrift Qalqalah (eine Zusammenarbeit mit Bétonsalon - Zentrum für Kunst und Forschung) initiiert und Bildungsprogramme in Bezug auf die Sammlung entwickelt. Parallel dazu kuratierte sie unabhängig Ausstellungen mit dem Kollektiv Le Bureau/ (www.lebureau.tk), das sie 2005 mitbegründete.
 

Nina Möntmann ist Professorin für Kunsttheorie an der Universität Köln, Kuratorin und Autorin und PI am Global South Study Center (GSSC) der Universität Köln. Zuvor war sie Professorin für Kunsttheorie und Ideengeschichte am Königlichen Kunstinstitut in Stockholm und Kuratorin am NIFCA, dem Nordic Institute for Contemporary Art in Helsinki, und hat als Kuratorin an verschiedenen Institutionen gearbeitet. Ihre Essays sind in zahlreichen Sammelbänden und Ausstellungskatalogen erschienen. Zu ihren Forschungsinteressen gehören die Dekolonisierung von Kunstinstitutionen und Modelle der sozialen und politischen Reorganisation in der künstlerischen, kuratorischen und institutionellen Praxis.

 

Informationen zur Live-Transkription für Gehörlose Community: Die verbleibenden zwei Sitzungen der Online-Versammlung werden dank der Dienste von Ton Taste Text live transkribiert. Die von menschlichen Schreibern gelieferten Bildunterschriften werden direkt in den Zoom-Seminarraum übertragen. Bitte bedenken Sie, dass die Fehler trotzdem auftreten können.

Für weitere Informationen, die Anmeldung zum Erhalt des Links zu Zoom, Hilfe oder Vorschläge wenden Sie sich bitte an presse@kunstverein.de 

Nächste Termine

Kuratorenführung

Mit Bettina Steinbrügge

Donnerstag, 3.12.2020, 17 Uhr

Führung

Öffentliche Führung

Donnerstag, 10.12.2020, 17 Uhr

Führung

Öffentliche Führung

Donnerstag, 17.12.2020, 17 Uhr

Schließen